Refreshing.

I love the Flash Forward Podcast. it’s fun exploring what different futures are like and then discussing them with people that know things about that field.

This week it was Robot teachers and whether that’s a good idea or not. After all, schools and teachers are much more than about learning.

There was one moment during this episode where I had a response that felt refreshing and relieving to hear. Host Rose Eveleth was talking about her attitude towards school, saying that she was ornery and if she felt an assignment were stupid, she just wouldn’t do it.

In that moment, I had a “wow, me too” feeling, as well as a moment of amazement at hearing someone say they are stubborn and can’t abide doing things they feel are stupid with such self-acceptance and confidence.

I’m like that in a lot of ways, except I feel extraordinarily bad about expressing it and feel bad that I have ornery reactions to things I think are stupid. I know sometimes it’s the adult thing to do to just suck it up and do stupid thing X anyway, and I did that in school with so many books/assignments.

It’s been awhile since I had a moment of deep-seated identification with someone else. I wish I was more comfortable just being my stubborn self more often.

ISsignature12607crop

 

Leave a Reply

