Too idealistic?

I found out I have 6 months left on my contract today.

I do want a new job, it’s just time.

Here is one fear I have: That I am too idealistic about how things work for the real world.

I’m kind of a romantic in that way.

I chose to put a lot of time into writing a science blog that I am trying to make as good as possible. the fact that I chose writing and editing seems a little far fetched given the job market in that world is at least as tight as it is in academia. And I still hope I can land a job in that world– the writing/editing/content creation world. It suits my personality pretty well I think.

Here’s to the search.

And if you would be willing to chat with me about what you do for a living, get in touch. I’d be fascinated to hear about it. There’s a lot I don’t know out there.

I hope by writing this, I’m putting something good out to the world, that the universe will conspire to take me to the next destination in my journey.

That I will grow into that new patch of light.

ISsignature12607crop

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

2 thoughts on “Too idealistic?”

  1. Hi Ian. I stumbled upon your blog while Googling ‘I think I’m too idealistic’. I’m also in a state of transition, having recently finished a 6-month contract that wasn’t renewed. I have a law degree but also dream of a future in writing. Would love to chat further via email and hear about your life. There’s a lot I don’t know too.

    1. Hi Stella! I’d be happy to chat further if you like. Thanks for reading and commenting. My email is ihstreet at Google Mail (spelling it out b/c spambots…).

Leave a Reply

