Writing Challenge 24.

I caught up yesterday. And now prompt 24 of Sarah K. Peck’s writing challenge:

We look from the outside and we make declarations about who we are. One of those subjects for which we all like to pretend is about parenting and child-raising.

Finish this sentence: “If and when I raise children, I’ll never…”

If you are a parent and you’ve said these things and watched them completely reverse themselves, write about a time when this came true.

If children and parenting makes you angry, sad, or frustrated, write about that.

If and when I raise children, I’ll never stop reading books. Books for the kids, sure. But I mean more reading just for myself, novels, non-fiction, all the things I can.

If and when I raise children, I’ll never stop listening. I hear kids take up a lot of energy and effort on top of life outside of kids. I tend to listen more than I speak. And I’ll maintain my habit of listening, trying to understand what the  kids, and what others are saying so they know at least one person hears them and understands.

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

Leave a Reply

