Writing Challenge, Day 8

Here’s the prompt from Sarah,

Look around you, at your immediate surroundings. Pick an object. Personify (become) this object and write a story from the perspective of the object.

What is it thinking, feeling, and contemplating each day? What does it spend the day doing? 

It was better outside. The wind, the light. Even in the cold season with short days, it was better. It was also better because I was literally grounded. In here, I’m half my former self, slowly drying. Slowly dying.

In here, my boughs are weighed down. The extra lights dry out some needles, but are a good source of light, at least for some of my needles.

Occasionally my lower branches are disturbed, severed, by a small animal. It’s a little annoying.

Just a little while longer, then I’ll be gone. I can feel the dryness, the brittleness settling in.

Outside was better. More constant, though variable, but also consistent, predictable. There were others like me too. I could sense their presence. I was whole.

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

Leave a Reply

