Writing Challenge, Day 5.

Writing Challenge Day 5 from Sarah K. Peck:

A character from a book you’ve read recently (or a television show you’re watching) comes to your life and talks to you. 

What do you do? What do you talk about?

I am drawing a blank on this one. Talking to people is not usually a strength of mine, let alone strangers from a book, TV show, or movie.

If Rey from “The Force Awakens” were hanging out with me, I’d like to learn how it feels to be aware of The Force after years of being left on a desert planet. And I’d love to see Luke’s light saber IRL.

I’m reading a book about evolution that has Charles Darwin as a central figure (amongst others- Darwin certainly was a big contributor to our understanding of the natural world, but there was a lot he didn’t do too).

I’d like to ask him about some of the sites he saw on HMS Beagle. I’d like to know his writing process, his meticulousness and just how he got such a robust correspondence with colleagues started and maintained. And I’d like to learn just how aware he was of science going on in the rest of his world.

And I’d ask where his interest in plants came from.

I could tell him about some of the findings that have happened since his time too. I think his mind would be blown by the things we know today.

 

 

 

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

2 thoughts on “Writing Challenge, Day 5.”

  1. Hey Ian, I’m interested in your questions for Darwin. Are you envious of his correspondence, and meticulousness? Do you admire his correspondence because you’d like to have something like it? Who would you write to (are we talking emails, letters? I vote for letters!), and what would you love to get into conversation about with your colleagues or peers?

    1. Hi M.,

      His meticulousness is impressive as is just the volume of correspondence and his network of correspondents.

      I do like to write letters, though most often now, I write long form emails to friends of mine.

      And I like discussing issues of communication, learning, science, and more. But the real answer is likely almost anything and everything. I’m just an insatiably curious person.

Leave a Reply

