Writing Challenge, day 4. 5o things.

Writing challenge day 4. Prompt from Sarah K. Peck

Write a list of at least 50 things that make you feel good.

  1. Listening to podcasts. Especially episodes that get me to laugh.
  2. Coffee.
  3. A local coffee shop.
  4. When it’s raining or nasty out and I can sit inside somewhere and read or write.
  5. Winter.
  6. Writing.
  7. A specific podcast: Good Job Brain
  8. Learning something new.
  9. When something clicks in my brain.
  10. The moment I figure out a good way to tell the story I’m writing.
  11. When I get reminded that music is good to listen to regularly.
  12. Sleep. A nap especially.
  13. When I end up out of my comfort zone without knowing I’ve left it.
  14. Listening.
  15. Reading a story by a great science writer (too many to list here).
  16. Getting followed on Twitter by someone I look up to or admire.
  17. Running.
  18. Running when it’s cold, or rainy, especially once it’s done.
  19. MOAR coffee.
  20. Yoga.
  21. My cat doing cat things.
  22. Closing a loop that’s been in my head too long.
  23. Finally sending that email.
  24. Getting to play with Photoshop or Illustrator.
  25. When the little coding I do know how to do works.
  26. Online courses.
  27. Moleskine or other notebooks.
  28. Doing something nice for someone else.
  29. Getting involved with a professional society.
  30. Reading a good book.
  31. Finishing a book.
  32. Adding to my list of books to read.
  33. A beer with friends at the pub. Even better if it’s a pub trivia night.
  34. Cloud Watch.
  35. Expressing gratitude for the things I do have.
  36. The times I can truly say I have a growth mindset.
  37. Editing copy.
  38. Nerding out about words and language.
  39. The Force Awakens. Star Wars is back!
  40. Time in my pajamas on the weekend or a weeknight.
  41. Going on a run with the running club.
  42. A feeling of space when doing a task.
  43. When I properly estimate the time something will take.
  44. Learning as much as I can.
  45. Realizing I have grown professionally and personally.
  46. Talking with my best friend on the phone.
  47. Writing letters to friends (usually email now).
  48. Sending postcards to people on Twitter at Christmas.
  49. Being out in nature.
  50. Meeting a deadline.

I’m sure I could list more. But bed beckons.

 

 

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

2 thoughts on “Writing Challenge, day 4. 5o things.”

  1. I’m also a huge fan of podcasts. One that I only recently found out about is called ’The Memory Palace’, which is a series of short episodes, but the story-telling is perhaps second to none. For more language-focused, there’s ’The History of English Podcast’ that charts the development of, unsurprisingly, spoken and written English. And for all-round humour and brain stirring, ’No Such Thing As A Fish’, the podcast by researchers for the UK panel show ’QI’. For some reason the humour resonates well with me.

    1. The Memory Palace is incredible.

      I’ll have to check out a few of the others you suggest. I’m always on the look out for a few new ones to listen to. The QI one sounds especially interesting and would probably resonate with me too.

Leave a Reply

