Putting it All Together.

Biochem Belle wrote a post today Failure is an outcome

I’m going to yes and… her post.

Failure has one requisite: Trying (Garfunkel and Oates are amazing).

I have failed to try way too often in life. That’s my own self-assessment. Or maybe it’s more that I’ve had ideas in my head that I don’t follow through with nearly as often as I’d like. Some are small, some ambitious, but I haven’t been aggressive about the pursuit.

I am a patient person, deliberate. I like to plan. Not throw caution to the winds. Deciding is hard for me. I also don’t feel quite grown up…synthesizing things that I have learned into something bigger that can grow.

I have tried to make this year all about finishing and being less closed off about my life— coming in from the cold of off the island.

There’s a project I’m going to get going that seems likely to fail this month. I’m going to spend some money on it. It’ll start small, but it’s been in my head too long to not do it. It’ll push me to try some new things/learn some new things; even if it’s just about failure.

So here’s to failure and hopefully I can still learn to do more from my not trying past,

ISsignature12607crop

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

Leave a Reply

