Roots to riches

I have been listening to a BBC Radio 4 series (by podcast) called ‘from roots to riches’ that is a history of plant biology centering round Kew Gardens in the UK. It is absolutely engrossing, exploring history, plant biology, our dependence on plants, how they were grown, used, studied, and just how central a place the study of plants play in the history of life science.

I was live tweeting it last night as I went through my workout at the gym. As I continue to listen, I’ll keep tweeting about it. It’s a fantastically done series. It makes me say ‘I want to go to there’. Or actually study plants in a more botanical way. I very much doubt the majority of plants have had their plant hormone responses studied (though it is likely similar for most plants, of course).

I encourage anyone to give a listen.

ISsignature12607crop

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

1 thought on “Roots to riches”

Leave a Reply

