Short post 6.

You know the drill by now. 5 minutes, keyboard down at 5 minutes.

I was exhausted today. But that shouldn’t have stopped me from getting going.

Yes, I had a long week, and another long one ahead. I do need a rest. And I have committed to trying to take one day away from work each week.

I did get my laundry done. And I purged a bunch of clothes I don’t wear/need/use anymore.

Of course, my day-to-day isn’t all that interesting. I’m trying to figure out if I’m spending my time productively, mindfully, etc. To that end, I set a calendar even for myself each week where in the notes for the event I asked a series of questions about what I have done that week that matters to me. This week, it’s all about careers, etc. What have I done to figure out what is next for me. And where. And just what it is that’s important to me.

I mentioned last time that I think I want to buy a domain, start a science blog and just see how it goes, because I’m curious about what that process is like. I want to learn to do it better. I was brainstorming names today that I hope aren’t already registered; though I don’t think I came up with anything really great. I also am not fully sure what the project is all about, but the initial thing is just to write about plant science in myriad forms and perhaps see if I can find interesting connections in disparate work.

ISsignature12607crop

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

Leave a Reply

