Short post 5.

Getting this one in just under the wire. 

What a whirlwind week. I think I actually got some things done. I submitted two writing things for review (both still drafts in progress…wish they were done-done). I need to do a lot this weekend too…just getting figures together, gathering information and getting more things down on paper for various projects. and laundry. I seem to be building momentum in some ways, at least. Even though my diet, exercise and other self-care routines are taking a back seat.

I can glimmer possiblity and perhaps even opporunity for myself now. It feels good that I have truly made writing a habit, even if it’s not great all the time. I like doing it, practicing it. I think I am going to officially start a new blog with a registered domain and everything…just because I want to go through the process. It seems like a daft idea, for sure, but it’s something I am curious about. I’m finally just going to lean into that instinct rather than dismiss it as foolish, if that makes any sense.

As an introvert, I tend to overthink things. I think that that tendency might make me good at something like consulting, though I’d rely on co-team members to prompt me to get out of my own head. Me even typing that sentence, being hopeful about any other career possibilities was not true a few years ago.

ISsignature12607crop

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

Leave a Reply

