Short post 3.

I am doing one short post a day. I write for 5 minutes and then stop and publish. This one is late in the day, so we’ll see how it goes…

I am trying not to panic with all the things that are going on for me this month.

I am concerned that nothing I am doing means anything and yet I am trying to obsessively finish a lot of stuff that I’ve had on the back burner for way too long and some urgent experiments that need to get done ASAP for grant deadlines PI has. I’m finishing a manuscript. I’m also trying to maintain exercise, and get myself situated for a good old job search/networking/whatever. And I’m trying to look after my mental health.

I crashed last night after a long day. I got home from running workout on the track and just collapsed and vegetated on my couch despite having things to do.

In some ways all this activity is good. I seem to be coping OK which I don’t think would be the case a few years ago. At the same time, I feel like there are life things I am neglecting; important ones. While I sort of want a more relaxed pace of things, I know I need to hustle too.

I feel like I am on the verge of getting sick. Sleeping isn’t going well and exercise time is suffering. I probably need to say ‘no’ to more things and really prioritize until is hurts.

ISsignature12607crop

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

Leave a Reply

