Short post 2.

This week, I am doing a 5 minute writing exercise each day. The rule: 5 minutes on a timer and I write and publish the result (I have some thought about what to write about beforehand, but everything on page is not edited). Tags, etc. all happen after the 5 minutes is up. 

I don’t work fast usually. This writing exercise is challenging for me to think on the fly. I’m sure it’s good for me somehow, to develop my improv skills.

I suppose I’m training to write 50 cover letters in a short burst, each one customized to teh job I’m applying to. when I can bring myself to do that.

I don’t like that I’m anxious about going for new opportunities. I’m sure everyone is, but for me, I get paralyzed too easily and miss out. That’s been true my whole life and it goes back to my first line here…I don’t work fast. I think, I see implications, I think things through. I’m not sure if that’s a valuable skill how-a-days…for those few people out there who make a living writing long-form, perhaps it’s a virtue.

ISsignature12607crop

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

1 thought on “Short post 2.”

  1. i liked this idea! I’m in the job hunt phase and i’m paralysed. don’t know where to begin, and think that i should begin at the very very very beginning (sun was a ball of fire and dust… phase), which leaves me in the same sucky position. I really relate to your post. Maybe i can try this myself ;-)

Leave a Reply

