short post 1.

I want to get back to blogging more regularly and to do that, I’m going to post a short post each day this week and see how it goes. The rules: I have 5 minutes to write (as set on my iPhone timer) and I’ll publish the results, good, bad, or other (timer starts after this intro). 

Progress! I want it so badly and it just seems absent. I’ve got a new way of thinking; the not depressive voice in my head that has more authority than my depressed self, though it is still there too, still relatively loud.

I’ve had guest blog posts published, I’ve learned a few new things, perhaps, I get to present a webinar on stress in the lab and how to get over it next month. I think I’ve put together an OK slide deck for it. We’ll see how it goes…I’m focusing on the internal things people can do since external things are not always controllable.

I am still adrift in ‘what to do for a career’ limbo. I’m still trying to finish this manuscript I have the data for all ready, mostly. But years of depression really eroded my ability to write technically, I think. I’m getting back to it.

There’s just not a lot I feel like is a big change. I have a cat now. Is it that I’m scared, still too risk averse, that waht I think is pushing my comfort zone, really isn’t? do I not ask/confer with others enough? It’s frustrating and stressful. And I need a better plan, perhaps than I have now.

ISsignature12607crop

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

Leave a Reply

