Trainees, claim your seat or get left behind.

BiochemBelle posing some very important questions for Ph.Ds/postdocs. We had better speak up now, more than ever and not just in our own confined circles.

Ever on & on

This is a point I was planning to bring up later, but since a comment on the last post has already hit it, let’s start now. IHStreet said,

My worry with this discussion for sustainability is that Ph.D.’s and postdocs will not be considered ‘major stakeholders’/not be a voice in the room (we have numbers but no money, and sadly money matters more than people do in many, many cases– I really am trying not to be cynical).

I replied in the thread, but I think it’s worth pulling this out as a separate thread. My comment:

I didn’t include it in the post, but I especially had trainees in mind when I close, “It’s time to pull up a chair”. Because in these discussions, I’m looking around and wondering, Where are the postdocs and the students?

The National Postdoctoral Association is probably the biggest advocate for this group in…

View original post 192 more words

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

Leave a Reply

