Year to year.

This is me at the Shamrock Shuffle in 2013:

Shamrock Shuffle 2013 selfie.
Shamrock Shuffle 2013 selfie.

This is me at the Shamrock Shuffle in 2014:

2014 Shamrock Shuffle selfie
2014 Shamrock Shuffle selfie

See a difference? No? What if I add this picture from the finish line of the 2014 event:

Me finishing the 2014 Shamrock shuffle. Photo by Nancy Dunbar, UVRC member.
Me finishing the 2014 Shamrock shuffle. Photo by Nancy Dunbar, UVRC member.

Do you see it now?

Although there are a lot of things that are really uncertain in my life, I’m a lot happier than I was a year ago. Truly, a lot less depressed. Progress! Yes, in both years, I took a selfie of me with a beer. The 2014 version just looks a lot better, sure, but the photo that a fellow UVRC member took with her phone of me at the finish line speaks volumes. In 2013, I largely kept to myself, didn’t really interact with anyone much and I don’t think I look particularly happy. This year, I felt much more like part of a team or community. I even did a cool down run with many of the members who ran. I even got up and did several more miles with the UVRC the following day. So if I may be so bold, one way of treating depression is to join a running club. Exercise + people, two of the best ways of getting through a depressive episode. I’ll toast to that,

ISsignature12607crop

 

 

 

Author: Ian Street

Ian is a plant scientist and science writer relating stories of plant science and scientists on his blog, The Quiet Branches as well as other outlets. You can find him on Twitter @IHStreet.

Leave a Reply

